12 comments on “White Shirt Weekend: Joie de Vivre

  1. What the first commenter said. The idea of Der Rosenkavalier in English is weird – why does ENO do this? Is it just accessibility for the audience?

    That said, I have on my table at home a recording of Ariadne auf Naxos in English which I intend to listen to, and I am willing (in theory) to be brought around to the idea of Strauss in English, but my first impulse is still a No.

    • “ENO sustains its core values by direct communication in English, the language it shares with its audiences” – part of the mission statement of this company, and yes, it would appear to be an accessibility issue. They have a strong outreach ethic and education programme as do English Touring Opera. I saw their Clemenza di Tito last year and really struggled. So I agree – a definite Nono and I won’t be making the effort to attend.

      • Well, ok, ENO, but part of what Strauss communicates is through his text, for goodness sakes! I understand such a tiny bit of German but the beauty of the language meets the music. Which is the whole point of opera, no? Ah, well…

        • Well said that woman! …… Ah well, indeed.
          P.S. Having said that, I have a sneaking suspicion that if Frau Kasarova was singing Octavian I would be there (possibly several times) – even if she sang in Swahili ;)

          • ;-)
            last summer i took a friend to a free performance of clips from “il barbiere di sivgilia” and was quite shocked when the singing started in english! took my brain a while to adjust but i guess in the end Rossini + english sort of worked for my brain. i also thought it wasn’t a bad idea given that my friend could understand. Anyhow, i might entertain Der R in english given that some of the German signing wasn’t quite german back in San Diego… i might pass out though if they’re performing Clemenza di Tito in english… how does “Parto” start??? will have to check, there’s a performance coming in boston…

Leave a reply - go on, you know to want to !

